It’s Tuesday! // Summer Snacking + Midweek Rambles

Hey there! I’m sorry about the low quality banners. I am trying something new and I’m still working out all the little issues so hopefully I can figure out something better soon! Thanks for your patience!

It’s piping hot out and I’m feeling under the weather, so here I sit in Starbucks desperately trying to draft blog posts to make up for how far behind I have gotten and, of course, dreaming of cloudy days. Since I’m feeling so sick and couldn’t shoot anything new, I decided to post the recipe for my favorite Summer salad.

I shared this recipe recently on my Instagram but here it is in more depth:

Ingredients:

-Spinach

-Berries (I like to use strawberries and sometimes blueberries!)

-Nuts (I use almonds)

-Goat cheese

-Lemon juice (we also have a lemon dijon dressing where I work and I use that occasionally, you can definitely play around with this!)

-Optional: grilled chicken or fish

Directions:

Make sure you wash your fruit and veggies! I usually use a small handful of spinach, but you can decide that based on how hungry you are. Lay the goat cheese next. I use a generous amount of goat cheese because I think that the goat cheese mixed with the fruit is what makes this salad so stinkin amazing, but again, it can totally vary based on preference! Lay the berries in or around the goat cheese to get them to sort of stick to one another. (Note: the berries that you choose determine the flavor of the salad. I almost always use strawberries [cut into fourths] but blueberries, blackberries and raspberries all work well on their own or together in this recipe.) Then fill all your little blank patches of spinach with the nuts. Toss with the lemon juice (I don’t use very much at all) and dig in!

Recently I’ve been doing a lot of hiding and writing. I take my journal (from SoLo in Solana Beach…I’m absolutely in love with it! I’ll post photos soon!) to a coffee shop or cafe and sit by myself writing whatever I want. Sometimes I write two lines, sometimes I write twenty pages. I’m really loving it! I’m going to start a tag (on Instagram) with a line from my journal each time I do this called #BecBabbles. If you like to journal like me, join in on the fun!! Tag your journal posts with BecBabbles and I’ll repost my favorites. Hopefully as my following grows, so will this tag. I’m really excited to hear what people have to say!

Things in my life have been changing at a rapid page over the last few months, and this week one of the biggest changes occurred in my personal life and it’s lead me to set a lot of goals for myself. Some of these include eating more whole foods and listening to my body (avoiding dairy and grains…eek!) and getting out on my own to journal more. This week I’m going to get up earlier than usual and try designating this as my journal time.

That’s all for now, friends!

xox

Bec

Leave a Reply

