It’s Friday! // Instagram + Places in Portland

Happy Friday! I woke up (at an ungodly hour) this morning dreaming of my favorite city. I spent about a half an hour looking back through my photos from my last trip up and realized I want to do something with them! I am not by any means a Portland tour guide (I only just started touring the city last spring), but I’m super excited to show you one place at a time that I really loved. I’m going back up on August 10th, so these will probably be popping up a couple times a week.

Salt & Straw is a unique chain of ice cream shops that began in Portland and has recently launched in LA. Their special flavors (such as Honey Lavender, Strawberry Honey Balsamic with Black Pepper, and the classic Arbequina Olive Oil) and hip, modern atmosphere draw people in.

More info on Salt & Straw:

How it all began

Flavors

Even if you don’t really care about the story of it all, I would recommend checking out the website because it’s adorable.

I didn’t get that many photos while I was there and I didn’t get ANY inside (why?!?!?!?) but I’m going to share a few shots from outside. And yes, I did basically do a whole shoot just because of how beautiful my ice cream was…which brings me to the Instagram portion of this post! I get a lot of questions about Instagram which is always a little surprising because I don’t have much of a following, so I thought I would talk a little bit about photo content.

Utilizing Walls

When you’re in the city this one really comes in handy. The first way to do this is, of course, to just stand in front of it and smile. This one is classic but not obnoxious or overdone.

And then there’s the thing plus wall strategy as pictured:

No matter what, interesting walls are your best friend. Let me know what YOUR favorite spots in Portland are for my next trip up!

xox

Bec

One thought on “It’s Friday! // Instagram + Places in Portland

  1. H.Andalib says:

    Portland is one of my top “to visit destinations”
    it’s the only american city that made it to “best places to live list” in the world. There are so many reasons that make this city a good city to live in and you can read more about them in the latest Monocle issue. cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

